Update: The Adventures of Augie March

I’m on to my second book of my BBC’s new year’s list! The Adventures of Augie March is Saul Bellow’s third novel – though I have to say I’ve never read any of the others – and I’m keeping up so far! A little denser than my last read, but it looks like it’s going to be very interesting and very good. A long introduction told me the history of the book and what it meant for American literature at the time of publication, especially influencing societal views of immigrants to the USA. The BBC also tells me that this year is Bellow’s centenary year – so what a good time to read his most famous book, and such an influential one.

This might take me a while, but I’ll keep you updated!

Leave a Reply

