Update: The Grass is Singing

So, in keeping with the list I posted the other day from the BBC, I’ve just started to read The Grass is Singing by Doris Lessing (1950). I’m five pages in and totally hooked! The book starts with a newspaper clipping:

‘Mary Turner, wife of Richard Turner, a farmer at Ngesi, was found murdered on the front verandah of their homestead yesterday morning. The houseboy, who has been arrested, has confessed to the crime. No motive has been discovered. It is thought he was in search of valuables.’

Now if that won’t draw you in I don’t know what will…

I’ll let you know how I get on.

2 thoughts on “Update: The Grass is Singing

Leave a Reply

